Beliefs & Duties

Muslim mother and daughter

Muslims believe that:

  • There is only one Almighty God, Allah
  • The prophets have brought Allah’s revelations to mankind
  • There will be a day of judgement when the world, as we know it, will come to an end and there will be accountability by every individual for their actions in this life
  • Although every individual has the ability to make choices, God has supreme authority over human destiny
  • Life exists after death

Five Pillars of Islam

The framework of Muslim life is based on five duties that all followers of Islam must obey and enact in their life. These are based on the Qur’an and the actions of Muhammad and are referred to as the Five Pillars of Islam:

 The Qur’an contains the laws followed by Muslims across the world
  • Shahada: The Declaration of Faith, which is the statement of faith in one God, Allah, and that Muhammad is his Prophet; this statement is made several times each day in the call to prayer
  • Salat: Five daily obligatory prayers in a set sequence at dawn, noon, mid-afternoon, after sunset and before retiring (refer Melbourne, Australia Prayer Times); all Muslims face the city of Mecca when they pray
  • Zakat: A prescribed amount of 2.5% of every Muslim’s wealth is given to the poor and needy; it is paid annually on the wealth accumulated in the previous year
  • Sawm: Obligatory fasting prescribed in the month of Ramadan, which is the ninth month of the Islamic calendar year; during this period, Muslims abstain from food, water and sexual activity from dawn to sunset; fasting is considered a method of self-purification and as a way of understanding those who live in poverty
  • Hajj: The pilgrimage to Mecca required at least once in a lifetime for those who are physically and financially able to do so; this occurs on the twelfth month of the Islamic year